Padma Awards Nomination 2023 | Know All The Major Details



The Padma Awards are one of India’s highest civilian honours, presented on the night of Republic Day. The award aspires to reward accomplishments in all activities or areas that incorporate an aspect of public service.

The three categories of awards are as follows:

  1. Padma Vibhushan (for extraordinary and distinguished service)
  2. Padma Bhushan (distinguished service of higher rank)
  3. Padma Shri (distinguished service)

The Padma Awards are given out based on the recommendations of the Padma Awards Committee, which is appointed by the Prime Minister each year. The public is welcome to take part in the nomination process. It is possible to nominate oneself.

Apply online link for Padma Award

Padma Awards Nomination 2023 Online

On May 1, 2022, online nominations/recommendations for the Padma Awards 2023, which will be awarded on Republic Day 2023, opened. The deadline for Padma Award nominations is September 15, 2022. Through the National Awards website, Padma Award submissions and suggestions will get accepted. 

The Government is working to rename the Padma Awards “People’s Padma.” As a result, all citizens are encouraged to submit nominations/recommendations, including self-nominations.

The nominations/recommendations should include all relevant details specified in the format available on the previously stated Padma Portal, as well as a narrative citation (maximum 800 words) clearly highlighting the person recommended’s distinguished and exceptional achievements/service in her/his respective field/discipline.

Download the Padma Awards Rules and Regulations PDF here.

The Padma committee approves the nominee list. The Padma Awards Committee includes the following

  1. Home Secretary
  2. The Secretary to the President
  3. Four to six renowned individuals.

India’s Prime Minister and President receive the committee’s recommendations for approval.

To identify talented persons who are performing selfless service to society. The Ministry of Home Affairs has been assigned to all the State/UT Governments. The total number of prizes granted in a year (excluding posthumous awards and those given to NRIs/foreigners/OCIs) should not exceed 120.

Famous Monuments of Eastern IndiaFamous Monuments of South India
Haryana Government SchemesFamous Monuments of North India
Rajasthan Government SchemesPunjab Government Schemes