Fifa World Cup winners List – Check Year-Wise Host, Winners, and Runner up



The FIFA Football World Cup is played every four years among 32 top ranked countries. Government job aspirants and Sports enthusiasts must read the article to know about FIFA World Cup winner list of Men and Women since the beginning of the tournament.
FIFA World Cup Winner List Men

A total of 21 World Cups are played so far and eight countries have won the trophy. Brazil has won the title 5 times, most by any nation.

YearHostWinnerRunner’s up
1938FranceItaly Hungary
1954SwitzerlandWest GermanySweden
1964EnglandEnglandWest Germany
1770Mexico BrazilItaly
1774West GermanyWest GermanyNetherlands
1982SpainItalyWest Germany
1986MexicoArgentina West Germany
1990ItalyWest GermanyArgentina 
1998France FranceBrazil
2002South Korea/JapanBrazil Germany
2010South AfricaSpainNetherlands
  • Brazil has won the title five times.
  • Germany and Italy won it on four occasions.
  • Argentina, Uruguay, and France won the cup twice.
  • England and Spain won the title once.

Brazil is the only country to play in all 21 tournaments. 

FIFA World Cup Winner List Women

A total of 8 Women’s World Cups are played so far and four countries have won the trophy. The United States of America has won it the most number of times.

YearHostWinnerRunner’s Up
  • The United States of America won the title on four occasions and has played 5 finals, which is the highest in this category.
  • Germany won the title twice and has played 3 finals.
  • Norway and Japan won the cup once. They have played 2 finals each.

FIFA Men’s World Cup Host Countries

Around 17 countries have hosted the Fifa Men’s World Cup. They are:

  • Brazil
  • France
  • Italy
  • Germany
  • Mexico
  • Uruguay
  • Switzerland
  • Sweden
  • Chile
  • England 
  • Argentina
  • Spain
  • The United States
  • Japan
  • South Korea
  • South Africa
  • Russia

FIFA Women’s World Cup Host Countries

6 countries have hosted the Fifa Women’s World Cup. Here is a list of the countries that hosted the FIFA Women’s World Cup.

  • China
  • The United States
  • Canada
  • France
  • Germany
  • Sweden 

Check National Games Schedule

FIFA Club World Cup

The first FIFA Club World Cup was played in 2000, in Brazil. It is a short knock-out tournament played between the winners of AFC Champions League – Asia, CAF Champions League – Africa, CONMEBOL Libertadores – South America, OFC Champions League – Oceania, and UEFA Champions League – Europe. 

FIFA Club World Cup Winner List

The FIFA Club World Cup is dominated by Spanish Clubs. Here is a table of the FIFA Club World Cup winner List.

CountryClub (Titles)Total Titles
SpainReal Madrid (4), FC Barcelona (3)7
BrazilCorinthians (2), Sao Paolo (1),& Internacional (1) 4
England Liverpool, Chelsea, Manchester United (1 each)3
ItalyAC Milan & Inter Milan (1 each)2
GermanyBayern Munich (2)2

Check FIFA Schedule

About FIFA

The term FIFA is derived from the french, that is Fédération Internationale de Football Association – FIFA. It is the principal body of world Football. Founded in 1904, this global body is headquartered in Zurich, Switzerland. FIFA is the umbrella organisation for 211 national football teams, whereas Russia was banned in 2022. 

About FIFA World Cup

The FIFA World Cup is the Football World Cup. The World Cup is played every 4 years. The tournament was not held on two occasions due to the world war. The tournament is taking place since 1930 except for 1942 and 1946. Till the last FIFA World Cup, around 79 teams played in the tournament whereas 21 Final Tournaments has held. The next world cup will be played in Qatar, in 2022. 32 teams will for a month between November and December to win the trophy. From 2026, the number of teams participating in the World Cup will be 48.

FIFA World Cup Winner List FAQs

Which country has won the most number of titles in both men’s and women’s categories?

Brazil has won the title 5 times in the men’s category whereas the USA has the most number of tiles in the women’s category.

How many FIFA World cup tournaments are played so far?

21 tournaments were played in Men’s category whereas 8 tournaments were played in the women’s category.

Which country will become the first to host three World Cups, and when?

In 2026, Mexico will become the first nation to host three world cups. In 2026, The USA, Mexico, and Canada will jointly host the FIFA World Cup.

When and where will be the next FIFA world cup played?

The next FIFA World Cup will be played in 2022, in Qatar.

How many countries have hosted the FIFA world cup so far?

17 countries hosted the Men’s World Cup since 1930 whereas 6 countries hosted the FIFA Women’s World Cup.