List Of Indian Nobel Laureates – Indian Nobel Prize Winners



This article addresses the List Of Indian Nobel Laureates and the contribution of those people who have devoted their entire life to mankind. The Noble Prize is the world’s highest award in the fields of peace, literature, physics, chemistry, medical science, and economics. Where each award winner is given a medal, a monetary award, and a diploma. 

  • Nobel Prize was invented by Alfred Nobel in 1901.
  • As of 2021, 58 women got the prestigious Nobel Prize.
  • Mamala Yousafzai is the youngest Nobel Laureate to receive the prize in 2104 at the age of 17.

India is a land of billions but to date, only nine Indians have been awarded the Nobel prize. As aware citizens of India, we should be aware of the list of Indian Nobel Laureates and their contributions to society. But before we do that, let’s have an idea about the man behind the award. It is none other than Alfred Nobel.

Who was Alfred Nobel?

Alfred Nobel was a notes scientist. He invented dynamite. A part of his entire wealth he donated to a trust. Ha wanted the interest of that money would be given to the people who make exemplary contributions for benefit of mankind. With this interest, the Nobel Foundation gives awards in the given fields.

  • Physics
  • Chemistry
  • Medicine
  • Literature
  • Peace
  • Economic Sciences

The institutions associated with the awards presentation are:

  • Nobel Assembly at the Karolinska Institute (Medicine or Physiology)
  • Norwegian Nobel Committee (Peace)
  • Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences (Chemistry, Physics, Economic Sciences)
  • Swedish Academy (Literature)

Check IIT Guwahati Recruitment 2022 here.

List Of Indian Nobel Laureates

Before we discuss Indian Nobel laureates individually, let us have a look at the Indian Nobel Laureates List.

Nobel LaureatesFieldYear
Rabindranath TagoreLiterature1913
CV RamanPhysics1930
Har Gobind KhuranaMedicine1968
Mother TeresaPeace1979
Subrahmanyan ChadrasekharPhysics1983
Amartya SenEconomic Sciences1998
Venkatraman RamakrishnanChemistry2009
Kailash SatyarthiPeace2014
Abhijit BanerjeeEconomic Sciences2019

Read about Atmanirbhar Bharat Rojgar Yojana here.

Rabindranath Tagore

Gurudev Rabindranath Tagore tops the list of Indian Nobel Laureates. Rabindranath Tagore was born in Calcutta. He received the award when India was still a British colony. He is popularly known as Gurudev for his contribution to literature. He is a poet, a playwright, a novelist, and a composer. He got Nobel Prize in the year 1913 for his work Geetanjali, which is a collection of poems. Tagore was not only the first Indian to win a Nobel prize, but also he was the first Asian to win the most coveted award. He was given knighthood by the British. But he gave it back in protest of the Jallianwala Bagh massacre. His songs are taken for the national anthem of India (Jana Gana Mana) and Bangladesh (Amar Sonar Bangla).

Read about the Difference Between Biomass and Biogas.

CV Raman

Sir Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman was born in Tamil Nadu. He was a professor of physics at Calcutta University. He was awarded Nobel Prize in Physics in 1930. He got the award for his distinguished work on scattering light. Raman studied diffused light. He is known for his famous theory Raman Effect. He also received Bharat Ratna in 1954. His research towards science and society as a whole is enormous.

Har Gobind Khurana

Dr, Har Gobind Khurana was born in Punjab. He went to the UK after he got a fellowship from the Government of India. Finally, he moved to the USA. He received the Nobel Prize for Medicine in 1968 for his work related to Human Genetic Code. He shared the Prize with another fellow researcher Marshall W. Nirenberg. He passed away in 2011 while being the laboratory head at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).

Mother Teresa

Mother Teresa was born in Macedonia in 1910. She moved to India at the age of 19. Her original name was Anjezë Gonxhe Bojaxhiu. She came to Calcutta. Here she came to know about the plight of the poor and downtrodden people. In 1948 she started her own organization “Missionaries of Charity.” She got Nobel Prize for Peace in 1979 for her service to people suffering from Leprosy. She got Bharat Ratna in 1980.

Subhramanyan Chandrasekhar

Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar was born in Lahore in undivided India. He was an astrophysicist. He was the nephew of Nobel Laureate CV Raman. His works revolved around the formation and structure of stars. He was awarded Nobel Prize for Physics in 1983. A scientific construct is named after him – ‘Chandrasekhar Limit.”

Amartya Sen

Amartya Sen was born in British India. He is one of the most well-reputed economists in the world. He got Nobel Prize In Economics in 1998. He received the award for his work in the welfare of the people. He got invitations from a number of institutions in the USA and UK.

His theories of social justice, democracy, social welfare, and poverty are well known. 

Venkatraman Ramakrishnan

Venkatraman Ramakrishnan was born in Tamil Nadu. He is a structural biologist. He won the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 2009. He shares his award with Thomas Steitz and Ada Yonath. He also received Padma Vibhushan in 2010.

Kailash Satyarthi

Kailash Satyarthi was born in Madhya Pradesh. He worked for the rights of children. He founded an NGO, Bachpan Bachao Andolan, to strive against child labor. He got Nobel Peace Prize in 2014. He shares his award with Pakistani child activist Malala Yousafzai.

Abhijeet Banerjee

Abhijeet Banerjee was born in Dhule. He is an Indian-American economist. He completed his Ph.D. from Harvard University. Later he took USA citizenship. He got Nobel Prize in Economics in 2019 for work towards the alleviation of global poverty. He shares his award with Esther Duflo and Michael Kremer. He is the last to receive the award on the list of Indian Nobel Laureates.

FAQs on Indian Nobel Laureates

Who was the first Indian to receive Nobel Prize?

Rabindranath Tagore was the first Indian to receive the prestigious Nobel Prize.

Who is the first woman to win the Nobel?

Marie Curie is the first woman to win the Nobel. He got the award in 1903 for physics.

Who is the youngest Nobel Laureate who received the Nobel Peace Prize?

Malala Yousafzai is the youngest Nobel Laureate who received the Nobel Peace Prize.

Who is the oldest recipient of the Nobel Prize?

The oldest recipient of the award is John B Goodenough who received the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 2019 at the age of 97 years.

How many scientists have won the Nobel Prize twice?

Four scientists have won the Nobel Prize twice – John Bardeen, Marie Curie, Linus Pauling, and Frederick Sanger.